Second Surgery Cause for Celebration

Standard

The title of this blog is “Second Surgery, Cause for Celebration”.

It has taken me one full month to wrap my head around what has happened to me since my cancer diagnosis in November 2014, taking a HUGE detour when contracting a rare infection (that should have been prevented) which forced me to have two surgeries, and come out the other end with a feeling of gratitude, peacefulness, and celebration.

For all you do, for who you are, I will be forever grateful you are in my life.  Utilizing the blog has been a way to share with you what I’m going through. It has taken me a full month to be able to update my blog and share my journey from a place of gratitude.

Two surgeries, and a third still to come.
Remember this?

IMG_0504

A rare bacteria forced me to undergo surgery to remove it.
Then I had to wait for the wound to heal before undergoing a second surgery to sew me up.

2

Stitches are now removed.  I have a large scar.  And I’m taking crazy high doses of medication that make me sick to make sure this bacteria is gone for good.  But all this means my stem cell transplant is now on hold until the beginning of 2016.  During the last month, I’ve wanted to scream and yell “This sucks!”  Let’s be honest here, I did quite a bit of that and shed lots of tears.

Over the last few days, I’ve turned a corner.  I count my blessings, I find myself becoming more grateful because the good things of life outweigh the not so pleasant things that are happening in my life.

And although I still have hurdles ahead of me and am not always feeling the best, I made the decision to return to work as President/CEO for United Cerebral Palsy of Orange County later this month.  The children at UCP-OC remind me to smile.  I miss our Board of Directors and the entire team.  I want to lead again. I am grateful for the help and understanding that UCP-OC has provided during these three months.

Since you are a special part of my team, I’d like to share a few pictures that remind me to celebrate life…

Watching the sunset in Laguna Beach

Watching the sunset in Laguna Beach

Spending a night at Terranea Resort in Palos Verdes with friends.

Spending a night at Terranea Resort in Palos Verdes with friends.

Everyone should have friends who will go away with you at a moment's notice to dry away your tears.

Everyone should have friends who will go away with you at a moment’s notice to dry away your tears.

Being a Soccer Mom! Go Supersonic Squirrels!

Being a Soccer Mom! Go Supersonic Squirrels!

Visiting the Pumpkin Patch. We love Halloween Season.

Visiting the Pumpkin Patch. We love Halloween Season.

Finally feeling up for working on our new home. Thank you Adam for being patient.

Finally feeling up for working on our new home. Thank you Adam for being patient.

Adam and Jadyn join Indian Princesses. Father and daughter group. They go on first camping trip to Catalina Island. Jadyn learns fishing skills.

Adam and Jadyn join Indian Princesses (a father and daughter group). They go on camping trip to Catalina Island with hundreds of other dads and their daughters. Jadyn learns fishing skills.

My beautiful girl reminds me daily to fight on.

My beautiful girl reminds me daily to fight on.

We buy season passes to Disneyland. I was able to walk the entire park and feel pretty good considering what is going on inside my body.

We buy season passes to Disneyland. I was able to walk the entire park and feel pretty good considering what is going on inside my body.

Adam and Jadyn go on California Screamin’

PARADISE PIER -- This bustling pier packs more fun in the sun than you can imagine, including the roaring roller coaster, California Screamin' and the spin-sational Mickey's Fun Wheel. (Paul Hiffmeyer/Disneyland)

I opted out for California Screamin’, but Jadyn and Adam were thrilled to ride. Its top speed of 62 miles per hour (100 km/h) makes it the fastest ride at the Disneyland Resort and one of the fastest rides at any Disney theme park.

The thrill ride brings me back to the title of today’s blog and one of my new mantras that I’d like to share with you…

15  

Let’s throw up our hands in the air and enjoy the ride!

6 thoughts on “Second Surgery Cause for Celebration

  1. Janet

    Deborah – sending you strength and healing thoughts. Yours is an incredible journey – I’m praying for you and your sweet family. Janet

    Like

  2. Leba Cohen

    Sounding very up.Miss you. Wish you needed me more often . Maybe we can meet for coffee or just a visit. Want to see what’s happening with your home too. Love Leba

    Like

  3. Sue Ann cross

    Deb, your posts share such heart, honesty and hope. This journey has been one that none of us could imagine and you just keep finding the brightness of life through it all. You are quite an inspiration to each of us. Thank you for including us in your life and for sharing the hope and goodness in life.

    Like

  4. Tami Steinkamp/Promotional Image

    Deb, I just wanted you to know just how much strength and gratitude I get from you and your Blog! THANK YOU!! You show such an honest sampling of courage and fear, gratitude and anger, all of this while also being so inspiring, you truly are an amazing woman! I’ll continue to send healing light to you for strength and health as you continue with your journey. I am very happy to hear you are back at UCP-OC and I hope to see you there soon!

    Like

Leave a comment